Richard Young

Year of leaving? 


Current Job

Trainee Farm Traider

Favourite subject in school and why?

History. I always enjoyed history and I was very lucky at KEVI to have such good history teachers such as Mr Robson and Mr Hegarty.

What have you done since leaving KEVI?

I left KEVI in 2010 to do an Degree in Agriculture at Harper Adams University. I graduated in 2014 after doing three years learning and one year out of Uni on a work placement which was compulsory for my course. I really enjoyed my placement and it started to help lead me on the path to the job I have today.

After graduating I worked on a large arable farm in Cambridgeshire as a grainstore manager for one and a half years. I left that job to pursue the job I had wanted since I was 16 and relocated to Dundee to become a trainee farm trader with Scotgrain agriculture (a division of Bairds Malt Ltd and Graincorp Ltd (an Australian company listed on the Sydney stock exchange)).

What has been your biggest achievement in life and how did your experience at KEVI help you to achieve other successes?

I suppose at this point graduating from university. For the subject I studied at university I didn’t study at A Level what would be classed and standard subjects for an Agriculture student to study. However as I studied English language and history I knew how to write long essays which probably helped me the most when completing coursework at uni.

What one piece of advice would you give to current students?

When applying for university or college or for a job include everything you have done in a social sense as well as academic as I truly believe that is how I got into university as I hadn’t studied any of the subjects that the course required, but I had a lot of related social activities to my course. Don’t let the subjects you chose at A level tunnel your vision

What’s your next big goal?

My next big goal is to complete all my agronomy and fertiliser qualifications which I need to have to be able to advise my farmer customers in how to look after their crops in the most sustainable way. Also I am aiming to buy a house with my girlfriend in the next couple of years.